Episode # 3  by Mike Mettler, official FoghatStorian   01-07-22


Energized, Foghat’s third studio album, was released 48 years ago by Bearsville Records on January 6, 1974. Produced by Tom Dawes (also known for singing and playing guitar on The Cyrkle’s No. 2 hit single in 1966, “Red Rubber Ball”), Energized reached No. 34 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart — the first of seven consecutive Foghat albums to make it into the Top 40 — and was certified as Gold by the RIAA, signifying over 500,000 copies sold, within a year of its release. (Just like we said about Night Shift last November, we feel it’s well beyond time for a revised, updated sales recertification!) A rousing cover of Buddy Holly’s 1957 rockabilly favorite “That’ll Be the Day” and the radio edit of the funky come-on “Step Outside” were both released as singles, though neither of them made any dents on the U.S. Hot 100 singles chart. (For those of you keeping stats, “Honey Hush” — a longtime Foghat favorite of ours that we’ll delve into further in just a bit — saw release as a promo single in Japan.)

 Click the FoghatStory tab for the full story! 

  All I Want for Christmas Is . . .  Foghat!

Episode #2   by Mike Mettler, official FoghatStorian 12.21.2021


It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, as the saying goes — though when it comes to Foghat, it also sounds a lot like Christmas as well.

While many bands from the classic-rock era are known for having one or maybe even two signature Christmas songs in their arsenal, Foghat actually have more than a few in their collective quiver — not surprising, really, given that Foghat have never been a band for doing what anybody else does, anyway.

Click the FoghatStory tab for the full story! 



Night Shift Turns 45!

Episode #1  by Mike Mettler, official FoghatStorian – 11.23.21


 Night Shift, Foghat’s sixth studio album, was released 45 years ago by Bearsville Records on November 18, 1976. Produced by Dan Hartman — the acclaimed bassist for Edgar Winter Group and the solo artist behind the 1984 Top 10 single “I Can Dream About You” — Night Shift reached No. 36 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and has since been certified as Gold by the RIAA, signifying over 500,000 copies sold. (It’s high time for an updated sales recertification, we say!) The hard-charging opening track “Drivin’ Wheel” reached No. 34 on the U.S. Hot 100 singles chart, while the heartfelt, strings-drenched album-closing ballad, “I’ll Be Standing By,” made it to No. 67.

Click FoghatStory Tab for full story!



Celebrating our 50th Anniversary!! 

Get our latest double CD + DVD released 7/16/21

14 Great Tracks Recorded live at Daryl’s House Club on 11/17/19


Autographed copy available at Talk Shop Live


Or go to our online store for your copy!


Track listing for 8 DAYS ON THE ROAD:
1. Drivin’ Wheel
2. Road Fever
3. Stone Blue
4. Fool For The City
5. It Hurts Me Too
6. Take Me To The River
7. Home In My Hand
8. 8 Days on the Road
9. Chateau Lafitte ’59 Boogie
10. I Just Want To Make Love To You
11. Chevrolet
12. Maybellene
13. Play That Funky Music
14. Slow Ride

From Facebook...